Capital and Coast District Health Board logo
  • Fionnagh Dougan Chief Executive Officer

    Fionnagh was appointed Chief Executive of both Capital & Coast and Hutt Valley DHBs in 2019. Fionnagh was previously Chief Executive of Children’s Health Queensland Hospital and Health Service (CHQ), where she led a statewide service based on the vision of delivering life-changing care for children and young people across Queensland. Fionnagh began her career as a registered nurse and has held senior management positions in the United Kingdom and at Auckland DHB, including leadership roles in mental health, ambulatory services and Starship Children’s Hospital.

    Fionnagh has a strong commitment to the provision of safe, sustainable quality health services and a passion for delivering equitable health outcomes through partnerships with Māori and Pasifika communities.

  • Sandy Blake Executive Director, Quality Improvement & Patient Safety

    Sandy has more than 15 years’ experience in the New Zealand and Australian health sectors. Most recently she has been working as the Director of Nursing and General Manager, Patient Safety and Service Quality at Whanganui DHB, where she markedly improved the safety and quality performance of the DHB.
  • Thomas Davis General Manager, Corporate Services

    Thomas has held executive leadership positions at Tranz Rail, ONTRACK, and Kiwi Rail. These roles include General Manager Corporate Services and Chief Financial Officer at ONTRACK, and General Manager Interislander at Kiwi Rail.

    With 15 years in general management Thomas has considerable experience improving organisational performance and dealing with a wide range of complex issues.
  • Nigel Fairley General Manager, 3DHB Mental Health, Addictions and Intellectual Disability Services

    Nigel is the General Manager of Te-Upoko-me-te-Whatu-o-te-Ika for Capital & Coast, Hutt Valley and Wairarapa District Health Boards’ Mental Health, Addictions and Intellectual Disability Services.

    He is also Director of Area Mental Health Services for the 3 DHBs (the role responsible for the administration of the law in Mental Health Services). From 1998 to 2015 Nigel was the Clinical Director and Director of Area Mental Health Services of CCDHB Regional Forensic Mental Health Services (adult and youth).

    Nigel is a Fellow of the New Zealand College of Clinical Psychologists and is currently the President of the NZ branch of the Australian New Zealand Association of Psychiatry, Psychology and the Law (ANZAPPL).
  • Arawhetu Gray Director Maori Health Services/Manager Planning & Funding Mental Health and Addiction Services

    Arawhetu has held various senior executive roles. She was the Group Manager for Mental Health at the Ministry of Health, Deputy Director-General Policy Partnerships at Te Puni Kōkiri, and Chief Māori advisor at NZQA. Arawhetu is the Co-Chair of the Maternal Morbidity Working Group, Health Quality Safety Commission.

    Arawhetu has iwi affiliations with Ngāti Kahungunu ki Wairarapa, Rangitane ki Wairarapa and Ngāi Tahu.
  • Rachel Haggerty Director Strategy, Planning and Performance 2DHB

    Rachel has held senior leadership positions at a number of DHBs, including Waitemata, Auckland and Canterbury. She was the General Manager of North Shore and Waitakere Hospitals.

    For the past 8 years, Rachel has worked as a consultant, developing strategies and systems for the Ministry of Health, DHBs, NGOs, primary healthcare and Whānau Ora organisations.

    Rachel is currently supporting us with our Vision 2030 work.
  • Emma Hickson Chief Nursing Officer

    Appointed in March 2019, Emma began her nursing career in the UK and joined CCDHB around 2001/2002. Her roles at CCDHB have included preceptor educator, charge nurse manager, and educator lecturer. She has also spent 18 months managing Hutt Valley DHB’s community nursing services before returning to CCDHB.

  • Michael McCarthy Chief Financial Officer

    Michael has worked in the health sector for 25 years. Before joining the DHB he held a number of senior positions in the Ministry of Health, including Chief Financial Officer and Chief Advisor. He has also held a number of senior finance roles in the NHS in the UK, including Deputy Director and Chief Accountant at St Thomas’s Hospital London.

    Outside health, Michael has held a number of CEO and finance roles in private businesses and holds directorships in private companies and community organisations. He is a graduate of the Advanced Management Programme from Monash University and has postgraduate qualifications in strategic management.
  • Christine King Acting Chief Allied Health Officer

  • John Tait Chief Medical Officer

    Appointed in April 2016, John previously held the position of the Executive Director Clinical, Surgery, Women’s and Children’s. He has been a consultant obstetrician and gynaecologist since 1986.

    John is currently Chair of the National Maternity Monitoring Group, and Chair of the Maternal Morbidity Working Group. He is a member of the Endometriosis Task Force, Neonatal Encephalopathy Taskforce and the Waikato Maternity Taskforce; Director of ISTAR, and Vice President of the Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists.
  • Tracy Voice Chief Digital Officer

    Tracy comes with significant experience in a large complex organisation, having been at MPI for the past eight years – most recently as Chief Information Officer and Director, Business Technology and Information Services – and previously with NZ Post. She has also recently provided leadership at MPI as acting Deputy Director General Corporate Services.

    Her achievements at MPI include creating and implementing an information technology strategy, introducing new digital and technology solutions at the New Zealand border, and overseeing the merger of Ministry of Agriculture and Forestry and the Ministry of Fisheries technology systems, implementing the first Google enterprise in New Zealand.
  • Joy Farley Director Provider Services Hutt Valley and Capital & Coast DHBs

Last updated 30 January 2020.