Capital and Coast District Health Board logo

The board of Capital & Coast District Health Board (CCDHB) is responsible for governance of the DHB, setting its strategic direction and monitoring progress.

Boards of DHBs have up to 11 members – 7 of these are elected every 3 years during local body elections. The Minister appoints up to 4 members and the board’s chair and deputy chair. Below are the current members of the CCDHB board.

Read the CCDHB Board Governance Manual here.

Find out about public participation at board meetings here.

CCDHB board members

David Smol – Board chair (CCDHB & Hutt Valley DHB)

Board Chair David SmolMr Smol has over 35 years of experience in the energy sector in the United Kingdom and New Zealand. He has worked for Conoco United Kingdom Limited, Electricity Corporation and ILEX Energy Consulting. He was part of the Contact Energy establishment team from 1995- 1996 and a member of the team that developed the rules for the New Zealand electricity market. In 2008 he was appointed as Chief Executive of Ministry of Economic Development and from 2012-2017 was the inaugural Chief Executive of the Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment, following the merger of four government departments. He has a Master of Philosophy, majoring in economics from Cambridge University and was made a Companion of the Queen’s Service Order in 2018 for services to the State.

Kathryn Adams

Kathryn Adams

Kathryn is a registered nurse with a PhD in nursing. She has held senior nursing leadership and management roles in clinical practice, hospital management, nursing education and clinical research. Her nursing roles have included education officer for the Nursing Council of New Zealand where she worked with the late Dr Erihapeti Ramsden to develop the Guidelines for Cultural Safety in Nursing and Midwifery Education. Her most recent roles include School Nurse Vaccinator with Regional Public Health and she is an Independent Community Health/Education provider.


Roger Blakely

Roger Blakeley

Roger has extensive experience in central and local government. His roles have included chief executive of the Ministry for the Environment, the Department of Internal Affairs and Porirua City Council. He is a qualified civil engineer and has a PhD in earthquake engineering. He was the chief planning officer at Auckland Council. He has also been a director on a number of Crown entity boards. He is an elected member of Greater Wellington Regional Council.


Appointed Board member Hamiora BowkettHamiora Bowkett

Hamiora is an Appointed Member of our Board.

He has worked in the health sector for a number of years, focusing on capital asset management and investment proposals.  

Involved in rebuilding Canterbury and West Coast DHB facilities after earthquakes in 2010 and 2011, his work concentrated on infrastructure, analytics and public sector management.

After holding senior positions at both PricewaterhouseCoopers and Ernst & Young, he was also Chief Strategy Officer at the Ministry of Health. He is currently Deputy Chief Executive at Te Puni Kōkiri.

‘Ana Coffey

‘Ana Coffey

‘Ana has been a Porirua City Councillor since 2010. She was Deputy Mayor from 2013-16. Previous to her elected roles she was a primary school teacher. ‘Ana is of Te Atiawa, Tongan and NZ Pākehā descent.





Tristram InghamTristram Ingham

Tristram is an appointed member of our board. He is a Medical Epidemiologist with expertise in addressing health inequities, especially within Māori health, long-term conditions, disability rights, and healthcare governance.

He is a senior research fellow at the University of Otago, where he is currently involved with a number of epidemiological and clinical studies. Major research interests are asthma (particularly among Māori), bronchiolitis, the role of vitamin D in respiratory health, and sleep disordered breathing. He is the Chair person for the Muscular Dystrophy Association (Tuaatara | Central Region) Incorporated and a Vice Chairperson for Muscular Dystrophy Association of New Zealand Incorporated.

Chris Kalderimis

Chris is a Romanian Greek immigrant.  He has lived in Wellington most of his life apart from some years in Dunedin.  He was a GP for 35 years in his own practice and is now working part time as a locum GP.

He has served as a board member for both Mary Potter Hospice and the Wellington Free Ambulance.  He was also a part time senior lecturer at the Otago Medical School.


Sue Kedgley

Sue Kedgley

Sue has been an elected DHB board member since 2013. Sue is on the Board of Consumer New Zealand Board and is an author of six books.  She was previously a journalist, a Wellington Regional and City Councillor and an MP for 12 years and chaired Parliament’s Health Select Committee for 3 years.  In 2016, she received the New Zealand Women of Influence Award for Diversity.

Vanessa SimpsonVanessa Simpson

Vanessa is an Executive Leader with Wellington Free Ambulance (WFA), leading the Relationship and Development team.  Vanessa is a tertiary qualified Extended Care Paramedic with over 16 years experience delivering both frontline ambulance and community paramedic services.  Vanessa has worked on initiatives and projects with WFA to help connect and strengthen health services throughout the CCDHB region. These include the telehealth stroke, falls project, Kapiti locality pathways and GoodSam innovations.


Last updated 23 October 2020.