Brett Delahunt  ONZM  KStJ,  GCLJ

BSc Hons (VUW), BMedSc (Otago) 1976, MB ChB (Otago) 1978, MD (Otago) 1995, FRSNZ, FRCPA 1985, FFSc (RCPA), FRCPath, FNZSP, AFNZIM

Born Wellington 20 Feb 1950

Brett DelahuntResident medical officer Wellington Hospital, 1979-1980.

Lecturer in pathology University Otago, 1980-1986

Senior lecturer in pathology, 1986-1994

Associate professor, 1994-1996, professor, since 1996; chairman department pathology Wellington School Medicine, since 1995.

Deputy dean Wellington School Medicine, since 1998.

Principal medical advisor St. John Ambulance, New Zealand, 1993-1997.

Board management Wellington Free Ambulance Service, 1986-1996.

Member national civil defence health planning committee Ministry of Civil Defence, since 1992.

Member cancer reporting advisory group Ministry of Health, New Zealand.

Consultant pathologist New Zealand Cancer Registry Ministry of Health, since 1997.

Member WHO Renal Tumour Classification Panel 1989 -

Chair scientific advisory committee Wellington Medical Research Foundation, since 1997

Ministry of Foreign Affairs, New Zealand Committee for Dissemination of Humanitarian Law, since 1998.

Government appointee Medical Laboratory Scientists Registration board, since 2000.

President NZ Society of Pathologists 1996 - 2007

President International Society of Urological Pathology 2007 - 2009

President Australasian Division International Academy of Pathology 2007 - 2009

International Vice President International Academy of Pathology 2013 - 2014

Member of the Union Internationale Contre la cancer (UICC) TNM Staging Expert Panel for Genitourinary Cancers, 2011.

Professor Delahunt has received numerous academic awards. Among these he was awarded the Koss Medal of the International Society of Urological Pathology in 2003, the Gold Medal as a Distinguished Fellow of the Royal College of Pathologists of Australia in 2009, the Golden Jubilee Medal of the Wellington Medical Research Foundation in 2010 and The Distinguished Pathologist Medal of the International Academy of Pathology in 2013. In 2004 he was admitted as an Officer of the New Zealand Order of Merit for services to pathology and in 2012 was elected a Fellow of the Royal Society of New Zealand.



Last updated 7 November 2016.